Lifetime’s Announces New V.C. Andrews Series

Used with Lifetime's permission

In July, Lifetime dazzled their audience with the Gothic limited series, Flowers In The Attic: The Origin. This series featured an all-star cast including Jemima Rooper (Lost In AustenThe Girlfriend Experience), Max Irons (CondorTerminal), T’Shan Williams (ElleNinja Express), Kelsey Grammer (CheersFrasier), Harry Hamlin (UnsinkableMad Men), Paul Wesley (Vampire DiariesTell Me A Story), Buck Braithwaite (NefariousMasters Of The Air), Luke Fetherston (PandoraAlmost Never), Kate Mulgrew (Orange Is The New BlackStar Trek: Voyager), Hannah Dodd (Enola Holmes 2), Bridgerton), Alana Boden (The BrideI Am Elizabeth Smart), and Callum Kerr (MonarchHollyoaks).

Flowers In The Attic: The Origin is based on the novel, Garden of Shadows by Andrew Neiderman. However, since V.C. Andrews died in 1986, Neiderman has been the ghostwriter for Andrews.

How Many Viewers Watched Flowers In The Attic: The Origin On Lifetime?

How many people watched Flowers In The Attic: The Origin? According to the Lifetime press release, 10 million total viewers watched the series based on V.C. Andrews’ books. Additionally, this includes all linear and digital platforms.

While some July viewers watched Christmas In July, Lifetime viewers were engrossed in the twisted origin story of the Foxworth Family.

This is the story of Olivia Winfield (Cooper), the headstrong daughter of Mr. Winfield (Hamlin), who found unexpected  love with the most eligible bachelor around, Malcolm Foxworth (Irons).

During their whirlwind romance, there was no hint of the nightmare that was to come. More so, after their marriage, Olivia moved to Foxworth Hall. There, her life takes a dark turn.

With each movie in this limited series, we learn how this light and happy woman turns into the terrifying beast that locks her grandchildren in the attic.

Used with Lifetime's permission
Used with Lifetime’s permission

What Is Lifetime’s Next V.C. Andrews Book Adaptation Series?

Although Lifetime is celebrating its current success, they are all ready to start on another series of V.C. Andrews’ books.

The next Lifetime V.C. Andrews series that they will film is the Dawn Cutler Anthology. Ghostwritten by Andrew Neiderman, this series follows the Cutler, Booth, and Longchamp, families. These books came out between 1990-1993.

Therefore, Lifetime is currently casting the Dawn Cutler anthology. They should announce who their cast is. We can safely guess that based on Flowers In The Attic: The Origin, they will cast some big names in their next limited series.

Moreover, they plan to premiere this series in 2023. Although there are details on filming and such, based on the past two years, Lifetime aired its V.C. Andrews-based series in the month of July. We could hedge a bet that they will do the same in 2023.

Used with Lifetime's permission
Used with Lifetime’s permission

Network Has Exclusive Rights To V.C. Andrews’ Books

Throughout this summer, Lifetime has offered 14 titles from the V.C. Andrews movie collection. Furthermore, they are available on demand, and on TV Everywhere through August 31.

Some of these titles include V.C. Andrews fan-favorites, including Dark Angel, Fallen Hearts, Gates of Paradise, Web of Dreams, Heaven, Flowers in the Attic, Petals in the Wind, Seeds of Yesterday, If There Be Thorns, My Sweet Audrina, Ruby, Pearl in the Mist, All That Glitters, and Hidden Jewel.

Finally, are you looking forward to Lifetime’s Dawn Cutler Anthology-based limited series in 2023?

Georgia Makitalo

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *