Lifetime’s ‘Flowers In The Attic: The Origin,’ Based On V.C. Andrews Books

Lifetime Flowers In The Attic, used with permission AE press

Lifetime has announced a four-part, prequel limited series, Flowers In The Attic: The Origin.

Flowers In The Attic: The Origin boasts an all-star cast. This includes Jemima Rooper (Lost In Austen, The Girlfriend Experience), Max Irons (Condor, Terminal), T’Shan Williams (Elle, Ninja Express), Kelsey Grammer  (Cheers, Frasier), Harry Hamlin (Unsinkable, Mad Men), Paul Wesley (Vampire Diaries, Tell Me A Story), Buck Braithwaite (Nefarious, Masters Of The Air), Luke Fetherston (Pandora, Almost Never),  Kate Mulgrew (Orange Is The New Black, Star Trek: Voyager), Hannah Dodd (Enola Holmes 2), Harlots), Alana Boden (The Bride, I Am Elizabeth Smart), and Callum Kerr (Monarch, Hollyoaks).

This is what we know about Lifetime’s Flowers In The Attic: The Origin.

What Is Lifetime’s Flowers In The Attic: The Origin About?

According to The Futon Critic, Flowers in the Attic: The Origin tells the story of the headstrong and determined Olivia Winfield (Rooper). She begins by working alongside her beloved father (Hamlin).

However, she soon is swept off her feet by one of the nation’s most eligible bachelors, Malcolm Foxworth (Irons). It doesn’t take long before the couple weds and Olivia’s life changes forever.

Soon, Olivia finds herself as the mistress of the imposing Foxworth Hall. Unfortunately, the fairytale life she imagines is far from reality. Everything has become a nightmare.

Now that they are wed, and Olivia is far from those she loves, she discovers that Malcolm is quite different. Under Malcolm’s debonair exterior lies a dark heart.

Worst of all, a twisted evil lurks inside Foxworth Hall that will threaten Olivia’s happiness and that of her children.

Things soon turn very dark for Olivia. Her attempts to keep them all safe ultimately push Olivia to become the most terrifying version of herself.

Add that she is now influenced by her cousin, John Amos, who makes revelations that forever change her. This leads her to do something she considers inevitable. She makes the notorious decision to lock her grandchildren in the attic.

Flowers In the attic, Lifetime, used with permission AE press site
Flowers In the attic, Lifetime, used with permission AE press site

When Will Flowers In The Attic: The Origin Premiere?

Lifetime has not set an official date for Flowers In The Attic: The Origin, except that it will be released in  Summer of 2022. As there are multiple parts, they may divide this four-part mini-series into multiple weekends, as they did with the 2021 V.C. Andrews Ruby series.

Lifetime Announces Acquisition Of V.C. Andrews Library

Lifetime’s Flowers In The Attic: The Origin, is just the beginning of the V.C. Andrews series. A&E Networks has announced that they bought the entire V.C. Andrews collection.

This collection is over 130 novels, with over 107 million books sold.

Back in 2014, Flowers In The Attic, and Petals In The Wind were cable’s top two cable movies with women. The first had 30.1 million total viewers, while the latter had 23.4 million viewers. Therefore, the expectations are high.

In addition, Lifetime is currently developing V.C. Andrews “captivating” Cutler series. This is the tale of Dawn Longchamp, whose life irreversibly changes after the death of her mother.

Are you looking forward to Flowers In The Attic: The Origin?


Georgia Makitalo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *